The Commonwealth of Dominica is now part of Canada’s CAN+ Programme. This was announced via social media by Lilian Chatterjee, the High Commissioner for Canada.

In her tweet, Chatterjee who serves seven sovereign nations – Antigua and Barbuda, Barbados, the Commonwealth of Dominica, Grenada, St Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, and St. Vincent and the Grenadines; as well as the Organisation of Eastern Caribbean States (OECS) and three British Overseas Territories – Montserrat, Anguilla, and the British Virgin Islands – said “Canada values its relations with Dominica. Glad to announce that Dominica is in the CAN+ program for expedited visa processing for its citizens who had Canadian visas over past 10 years or valid current US visa.”

The CAN+ Visa is a facilitation programme for a Temporary Resident Visa Application to Canada. The programme, set by the government of Canada, speeds up visa processing for tourists who have previously travelled to Canada in the last 10 years or who hold a valid US visa at the time of their Canadian visa application– these tourists are required to submit less documentation than in the normal process.

Applicants who meet the criteria of CAN+ do not need to provide financial documents with their application submission and will also qualify for expedited processing.

The news was announced one day after Canada announced that five Caribbean countries (Antigua and Barbuda, Trinidad and Tobago, St Vincent and the Grenadines, St Lucia and St Kitts and Nevis) are now part of Canada’s visa-free travel programme, eTA.

Canada and the Commonwealth of Dominica have enjoyed longstanding diplomatic relations since 1978. The relationship is based on multilateral and development cooperation as well as strong people-to-people ties, including tourism and educational exchanges.